Image

Light,
A shadow over it,
A rough lick,
A gentle nudge,
Ticklish long whiskers,
Sigh,
Safe.

Two weeks,
Life is beautiful,
Spring is here
Food is served
By mother,
I only need to play,
Love.

One day,
Mother’s taking longer than usual,
Why? Why?
Alone.

Loud sounds!
Barking?! Baying?!
Running hooves?!
Man,
Getting nearer,
From over the river,
Fear.

Should I stay?
Or should I escape?
I stay!
This is mother’s place!
Defiance.

Digging,
Scraping,
Biting,
Scratching,
Shouting,
Pain.

Sharp teeth and rough hands,
I hear laughter,
Why are they laughing?
A pull, a tug,
I bite,
One shot,
Darkness.

JV.

This was inspired by Henry Williamson’s Tarka the Otter: His Joyful Water-Life and Death in the Country of the Two Rivers.  This is one of my favourite animal novels of all times. It really captures the harsh life of an otter from the moment he opened his eyes to the day he dies. And yet, it isn’t always dark. There are still times of happiness and contentment. The movie can be found on Youtube.   

Picture credit:  http://dailydoseofcute.net/wp-content/uploads/otter1.jpg

