Image

I do not usually do synopses for movies simply because there are always so many things I want to say that I fear I’d be doing the movie injustice by leaving out certain details.  

However, I do want to give my 2 cents on the movie “Two Brothers” by Jean-Jacques Annaud. This movie follows the lives of two tiger cubs, Sangha and Kumal, which were separated when young and finally reunited after more than a year.

I have to say that this is one of the best animal-themed movies for a long time because it was able to convey a relevant and powerful message, and at the same time, remain appealing to a casual viewer. I am not an expert in graphics and movie production, but when I see something of quality, I do recognise it. The fact that they could film this movie in such a surreal environment with wild animals (I know the tigers are trained, but they are still wild at heart) as well as expose the harsh realities of human-animal relationship was simply, for the lack of a better word, amazing!

First and foremost, I want to point out that the tigers, cubs and adults alike are superb actors! They say ‘eyes are the window to a soul’ and these tigers have proven just that! I’m not sure whether there are award shows for animals, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there was one! Each and every one of them was truly worthy of an Oscar (at least in my opinion)!

Another thing I’d like to say is kudos to the director for keeping it real (except some minor details, like male tigers staying around to protect cubs). I appreciate how he brought two very controversial issues to light with regards to animals. Circus animals and sport hunting. The former highlighted how animals are ill-treated and dispensable. The latter shows just how easily the balance of life can be disrupted to satisfy the egos of the wealthy. A whole family of tigers could be wiped out just like that. Of course, there’s the also issue of animal fighting, but since it was for a happier moment in the movie, I’ll skip that (for now).

Finally, I also liked how the tigers were portrayed as more than brutal, bloodthirsty beasts. Sangha and Kumal had personalities as different as black and white. I think it was this that made it really easy for viewers to relate and connect with them. They seemed to have minds of their own and when they were up to mischief, it really wasn’t very different from seeing two teenagers mess about.

I strongly recommend this movie to everyone who’s reading this since the full movie can be found on Youtube.

JV.

And here’s the trailer.Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvRZIAwkTvQ

